--- title: "About Permission Roles" slug: "permissions" tags: ["Permissions", "Configuration", "Setup", "Access", "Visibility"] updated: 2026-03-15T21:46:26Z published: 2026-03-15T21:46:26Z canonical: "help.infoodle.com/permissions" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.infoodle.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # About Permission Roles Throughout infoodle, access to any data or area in infoodle is given by permissions. Permissions are determined via the following: - A login - A set Role - Group permission - Visibility Permissions are managed by each site themselves, and they can give a login to who they need to. We recommend that logins are not shared in order to maintain individuals' privacy. ### What is a login? This refers to the username and password that is used to gain access to the site. For more information see [Assigning a User a Role & Login](/v1/docs/assigning-a-user-a-role-login) ### What is a set role? Each login is assigned a **role**, this allows you to allocate different functions and permissions within infoodle for each user. A role can either give access, or restrict access to a user within infoodle. For more information see [Adding a New Role](/v1/docs/adding-a-new-role) and [Role information Detail](/v1/docs/role-information-detail) ### What are group permissions? Group permissions control how a person can view a group in infoodle. There are four different levels of permission that a user can have in a group. - Administrator - Full member - View only - Past member Permissions are set when a person is added to a group and can be edited by the group **administrator** or person with **maintain all groups permission** in their role For more information see [Group Permissions](/v1/docs/group-permissions) ### What are visibility restrictions? Content in infoodle can have visibility restrictions that control who can see items in a contact’s **Notes** or **History**. #### What are visibility options? - **Just me**: Only the user who created the content can see it. (Default for new users adding notes or sending comms.) - **A specific group**: Only users in the selected group can view the content. - **Anyone**: Any user with the required Role permissions and access to the contact record can see it. #### Where visibility applies? - **Notes**: When adding a note, the user must choose a visibility setting. Notes created via **Forms** or **Workflows** use the visibility configured in those settings. - **Completed To‑Dos**: When completing a To‑Do, users add a completion note and must set its visibility. - **Contact/Comms**: When **emailing** via **Contact > Email**, visibility can be set above the Send/Schedule button. For **letters** go to **Contact > Letter** and visibility is set on the **Generate** tab. For more information see [Adding a Note](/v1/docs/adding-a-note), [To Do's - Task Reminders](/v1/docs/to-dos-task-reminders) and [Contact](/v1/docs/contact) ## Related - [Roles](/roles.md) - [How do I give someone a login?](/giving-someone-a-login.md) - [Group Permissions](/group-permissions.md) - [Adding a Note](/adding-a-note.md) - [To Do's - Task Reminders](/to-dos-task-reminders.md) - [Contact](/contact.md)